The Sweetest Promise

My Life Journal Entry for today …

The Sweetest Promise –

Zephaniah 3.17
“The Lord your God is in your midst, a mighty one who will save; He will rejoice over you with gladness; He will quiet you by His love; He will exult over you with loud singing.”

The nation was in total spiritual decay. The people idolatrous, and the safety and security of the nation about to be obliterated. And after God strongly uses His prophet to call them to justice and repentance, He offers perhaps one of the sweetest promises ever given. Not only mighty to save, BUT rejoicing and exulting over you as He brings quiet and rest. WOW! What intimacy, what Fatherly care.

I see the strong warnings and the powerful wrath of a just God in the Old Testament, but I never ever want to miss the gentle joyful love of the Father who will do whatever it takes to get glory for Himself and love His people into the joyful relationship He designed.

These words refresh my soul this morning Lord. What tender care you bring to your children. I want nothing more!

One thought on “The Sweetest Promise

  1. I love my children, and sometimes my heart is so full that it makes me want to sing about my love for them.

    But what a mind-boggling truth that we have such a wonderful heavenly Father that He rejoices over US with songs about His love for US!

    I often tell people, “Imagine. While we were here in church singing songs about Him, do you know who He was singing about? YOU!!”

    Makes me shake my head in wonder along with Charles Wesley and sing, “Amazing love! How can it be?”

    Like

Leave a Reply

