John Journal 1.6

Journal Entry Reflection: Write and reflect on what it means to be a road builder.  Where do you hinder people from meeting Jesus? Where do you help?

I guess I’ve never really thought about my ministry like the ministry of John the Baptist until now, but I like it.  I love the concept that I prepare the way for people to get to Jesus.  It does scare me though, because I know how often I have, and do prevent (or at least make it hard) for people to see past me to God.  Without a doubt the biggest barricade in my arsenal is my pride.  I’m confident that my commitment to myself turns people sour as they contemplate following Jesus unhindered.  My pride even raises up as I write, thinking “how humble and honest of me to write such a statement.”  Yuck!  I pray that the place I make smooth, straight, broad paths is in the ruthless commitment to daily rooting that pride out deep down.  I love to preach the Gospel to unbelievers and believers and smooth out the way to them understanding the love of God for them through His Son Jesus.  Let me do good road construction in that God, please!

What I Need to Pray About: Write and pray about jumping into greater places of “sandal untying” humble service.  How can God use you right now to serve others more sacrificially?

God, this message to be a servant feels so basic, yet I’m reminded … rebuked, at how often I need the call back to it.  I do, I need Your shove into sacrificial, thankless, slave-ness.  It’s really easy, well easier, God to do this for the Church, for others … gets harder to go lower and lower at home.  You have given me such an amazing wife who does so much to love and shepherd our family … and I still let her do to much of the serving to me and not enough the other way around.  God, I need to untie her sandals more, untie the sandals of my kids more, and bless them with my heart of service, beyond what I think is expected of me.  Needing Your help here God … pour on the grace!  Amen.

Leave a Reply

