That Transformation Look

God has wonderfully designed us all uniquely and yet has given us all faces.  I’m not trying to be silly here, but think about the way He intends for us to express worship and delight.  The eyes express the heart.  You can see it.  When someone is moved the eye is affected.  Tears, Brightness, Reflection, Affirmation and Agreement, Wonder and Awe.  I love seeing it in worship, it means softness and a desire to love God with ones whole heart, mind, and soul.  As a preacher it is a sweet thing to get the vantage point I get and see certain truths of the Scriptures grip certain people and to observe their visceral reactions, and sometimes their audible expressions.  The eye is linked to the heart, no doubt.

29 times the word “eye” is used in Wisdom Literature.  It also expresses the watchful care of our Father upon His children.  Psalm 33:18 – “Behold, the eye of the LORD is on those who fear him, on those who hope in his steadfast love”  and communicates scorn, mockery, and grief, Job 16:20 – “My friends scorn me; my eye pours out tears to God.”  Psalm 6:7 – “My eye wastes away because of grief; it grows weak because of all my foes.”  Proverbs 30:17 – “The eye that mocks a father and scorns to obey a mother will be picked out by the ravens of the valley and eaten by the vultures.”  I think it’s a funny thing that people think they can hide sin in their hearts, it so often shows all over their face, I’ve always called that the “sin buzz” that glosses ones eyes, makes it hard for them to make eye contact, and darkens ones countenance.  I pray my eyes always reflect the joy of the Lord, even in sorrow, an eye to His glory because His eye is always on me for my good.  Keep looking up and out with me!

With Eyes of Joy,

Pastor Mark

2 thoughts on “That Transformation Look

Leave a Reply

