Condemned Sin in the Flesh

Romans 8 is favorite to many, how can it not be?  Paul offers the great comfort of the Gospel in freedom from condemnation and life in the Spirit.  I’ve had many different “favorites” over the years – 

8:28 – The promise of good for those who love Him

8:18 – A beautiful perspective on suffering

8:31 – If God is for us, what else do we need?

8:32 – He’s given us the greatest gift, why fret about the rest?

8:38-39 – Nothing can separate us from the love of God

8:15 – Adopted by Abba!

But I’m in love with 8:3 these days – “For what the Law could not do, weak as it was through the flesh, God did, sending His own Son in the likeness of sinful flesh and as an offering for sin, He condemned sin in the flesh.”  I’m forgiven because He was forsaken, I’m accepted You were condemned!  What a glorious mystery – the substitionary atonement of Christ, our alien righteousness.  God’s justice executed, Christ’s death dealing the death blow, our sin forgiven and the Law fulfilled in us.  This is theology that sings, real Gospel work that compels faith and obedience.  

Brother, sister – you sin has been forgiven!  You face no condemnation.  Life is still hard and grief is still real, and often times the consequences for sins you’ve committed and sin that have been committed against you still hold a powerful sway over your life, but seeing our story inside God’s story DOES make all the difference.  Listen to N.T. Wright’s great words, “If God is at work He will do what He will do, and His purposes are always full of surprises.  But I am convinced that when we bring our griefs and sorrows within the story of God’s own grief and sorrow, and allow them to be held there, God is able to bring healing to us and new possibilities to our lives.”   My chains fell off, my heart was free, I rose, went forth, and followed Thee.  Don’t wallow in the darkness when freedom is yours.  Take your grief to the cross, preach grace to yourself, and follow Him.

Forgiven and Free,

Pastor Mark

7 thoughts on “Condemned Sin in the Flesh

  1. Thanks Pastor Mark, for the time you spend in the Word. You gave such a fresh view of our salvation, only through Christ and His sacrifice. To realize that to continue to punish ourselves doesn’t save us anymore than we already are was like a breath of fresh air for me. Continuing to punish myself almost keeps me where I don’t want to be. God is good, and He doesn’t hold me in the past, I hold myself there. Thanks for letting God use you at Leroy, to bring us the Truth in a new light. Smiles, Lydia Rich

    Like

  2. Sunday’s sermon was very life changing for me. Little did I know when I walked into church, how God was going to use your words to change my heart. I must admit I really felt Satan grasping for anything to keep me from service. Even to the minute I walked into the sanctuary, I became grumpy and didn’t want to be there. My mind was struggling, I even told Doug I wanted to go home. I was searching for someone to pray with before we began, with no luck. I then sat down and figured I will just sit thru it. Within a few minutes God’s words were filling my heart from the pulpit. Without revealing to all my personal struggles, i will just say…I finally found freedom in the Prayer Room… and in my Savior yet again!!

    Thank you Pastor Mark for being so obedient to Our Father.
    In Christ I am finally Forgiven!

    Your Sister,
    Kristi Milo

    Like

  3. AMEN AMEN AMEN, Praise God for the power of the cross and His Word. Thanks Kristi for sharing and for letting the Spirit move in your soul! May He do so more and more in our Body and in our community

    Mark

    Like

  4. I too was SO blessed and re-assured that there is no condemnation for those in Christ Jesus.

    It would be interesting to find out how many other people Satan tried to keep from going to church for that sermon.

    Don hurt his back the day before and wasn’t able to go to church and because of the snow on the road I didn’t want to go because I freak out when I have to drive in it. At the last minute I told Don I really wanted to go, so I warmed up the van and backed out of the drive only to get stuck, sticking out halfway in the road. So I called Don to help me, (he had to shovel me out with his bad back), and I was all upset and started to cry. I thought to myself, “when I get unstuck, I’m going right back in the house”. Well, I finally was able to back out onto the road but the driveway entrance was so bad I had no choice but to just drive away and I ended up safely at church. To God be the Glory!

    Like

  5. One thing that you said really helped solidify things and has really “stuck” with me. I don’t recall exactly how you said it, but the gist of it was…

    Godly sorrow lends itself to true repentance. True repentance is evidenced by being able to talk about it… to have it “out in the open”. Things that we still “hide”, we know we haven’t repented from.

    So… we know it’s condemnation or conviction based on how we react to that situation. If we’re able to talk freely about it, we know we’re being condemned. If it’s something we’re hiding, then we know it’s conviciton.

    Did I get that right? LOL. There have been a few things that I thought I had repented of, but were still niggling away at me. I have had the freedom to express my sorrow with others over the event… so it helped me to realize that satan was just trying to condemn me and keep me feeling bad about my sin.

    Thanks for the message!

    Like

  6. Condemning ourselves for sin repented of for those “in Christ” is wrong, it belittles the sacrifice of Christ. This is misplaced guilt and shame, you’ve dealt with the sin and yet you won’t trust that God has indeed forgiven you. When you don’t deal with sin, and aren’t able to talk about it “out in the open” you will feel well-placed guilt and shame and that should lead you to conviction, you won’t be able to squirm out from under it because you haven’t repented of it and trusted the work of Christ and it’s payment for that sin. Thanks Kim!

    Like

Leave a Reply

