Like a Deep Breath

I enjoy a good deep breath, you know one where the lungs fill up nice and full and then the exhale that leaves you relaxed and wanting to take another?  I couldn’t always do that in California, sometimes I’d start coughing, but in NE Ohio, it feels really nice, even better with my eyes full of God’s fall canvas all around me.  Reading the Bible has become for me a good deep breath.  I find myself reading phrases of God’s promises, wonder, and grace, and taking (literally) a deep breath.  I want to soak it in, fill up, find enjoyment in His love for me.  Guess what? Sometimes I don’t even finish my whole Bible reading section because the breath feels so good (shh … don’t tell anyone!)  I need the Word of God in my soul like I need oxygen.  I need it’s refreshing breeze wooing me away from worldly lusts.  I need it oxygenating my blood so I bleed Bibline.  I need its sweetness more than any other ink and pages can offer me … because I need God and the power of His Gospel coursing through my bones!  Sorry, I think I was trying to be a songwriter or poet there.

Bottom line — I want the Word of God to dwell in me richly.  I’m sad for those who have dismissed the Bible as irrelevant, too hard to understand, or have just gotten side-tracked wrangling over words.  And while they miss the one and only message from heaven to a fallen planet, they also are suffocating and missing out on good deep breaths of the air of heaven.  So, slow down, put your Bible reading plan to the side for a minute and take a good deep breath from the breath of God

Breathing in to breath out,

Pastor Mark

Leave a Reply

