A Boasting Bride

I love the Church!  With all her stains and wrinkles, her messy hair and mismatched shoes, she is the Bride.  If ever God came up with a plan that exalts HIS glory and not man’s, it’s the church.  And funny thing is, I’m so glad He did it that way.  I know that churches feel the pressure to do church “better” and unfortunately many think better means the way of business, or the way of entertainment, or the way of purpose, or the way of belonging.  And in each of those, there is good happening and good to be learned, but it’s not ours to make the bride … Christ purchased her, He’s purifying her, and He’s one day going to present her glorious to Himself at the greatest wedding party ever!  That’s all Ephesians 5:25-27 in case you missed the sermon Sunday (http://www.sermoncloud.com/Leroy-Chapel).  It’s ours to get the message right as we live on mission to the glory of God (Ephesians 3:8-10).  

Honestly, it’s easier to build a church on business principles, with motivational slogans, and top-notch marketing … just get the bride out of her dirty dress and put her in something hip and cool.  Get her some plastic surgery, bring in a fashion consultant, and fill her closet with a dress for every occasion.  The downside is Christ gets moved from the center as the bride is enamored looking at herself in the mirror. And its hard to preach a message of Christ crucified when He’s not the one being put on display.  The glory of the church is Christ!  God’s glory exalted in man’s weakness, sin exposed, and the Gospel as the only medicine for the soul.  So the work of the church is worship!  Sure, she ought to do her best at all she does – excellent programs, thorough planning, and diligent administration, but her calling in to boast in her husband.  And that’s what has stuck with me from Sunday’s message – A Boasting Bride.  Call it evangelism, call it missions, call it making disciples, OR call it a Bride who can’t stay silent about telling everyone she meets that her husband is the greatest!  He paid the highest price, is 100% committed to her growth, and will never give up on her until she is made perfect.  That’s a husband to be envied, a husband to be sought, a husband that’s worth glorying in.  So boast with me, Leroy Chapel, as the messy, in-process, dress-stained Bride in our glorious Husband to the people of NE Ohio and beyond.

 

For the love of the Bride,

Pastor Mark 

One thought on “A Boasting Bride

  1. I loved this message! I’ve been stuck on our identity as the Bride of Christ for a couple years now, and just the thought of my Heavenly Bridegroom brings me to tears! Awhile back, Lad Chapman asked us to do an artistic representation of transformation…..several of us chose to do a group project of the “Bride” with all of our faces from the directory, as well as saints of old, pasted onto a form of a bride. Although imperfect in its artistry, it did represent the chosen Bride.
    What struck me most about what you shared was the part about not being able to keep silent about how wonderful, how utterly adore-able, our Husband is! It reminds me of some others who felt the same way:

    ……”But if I say, ‘I will not mention him or speak any more in his name,’ his word is in my heart like a fire, a fire shut up in my bones. I am weary of holding it in, indeed, I cannot.” (Jeremiah 20:9)

    ……”For we cannot help speaking about what we have seen and heard.”
    (Acts 4:20, Peter and John’s response when asked not to speak in the name of Jesus)

    ……”How can I keep from singing Your praise? How can I ever say enough, how amazing is Your love……Howcan I keep from shouting Your name….I know I am loved by the King and it makes my heart want to sing.” (Chris Tomlin)

    If the rocks can’t keep silent, why should we?

    -Marisa

    Like

Leave a Reply

