It’s Feeling Real

I sat in our services this past Sunday and it really hit me, that was the last time I’d sit under our pastor/teacher David Hegg.  I’ll be preaching on Sunday, our last Sunday at Northpoint.  I turned to Michelle and said, “Now you’ll have to listen to me each Sunday.”  She gracious responded that she couldn’t wait.  Thanks Babe!  I sat with our Elders on Monday night and listened as they went around and shared stories and expressed appreciation for my friendship and ministry in their lives.  Then they gathered around me and laid hands on me as they prayed over me.  They prayed for you guys, prayed for my family, prayed for the Gospel to go forth with power in Ohio.  Then Tuesday, the pastors sat and prayed for each other after lunch and I wept praying for my brothers here that have meant so much to me over the years.  I’m thankful for the love of friends, for emotions, and for the heavenly bond that knows no geographical limits.  Pastor David graciously gave me Sunday to preach my last sermon here, I wrestled with what to preach, it didn’t take too long though, how can I not end my time here in Corona with anything other than Jesus!  So to Hebrews 12:1-3 it is, and “Follow Jesus” the title of my sermon.  Thanks for praying for me during this time, I feel it.  I tell people here that it would have to be something I am so utterly confident of God’s hand in to move me from here, something I’m so excited to be a part of for the Kingdom — and I AM!  I believe God has brought the Spansels and Leroy together, that simple.  

Leaving with sorrow … going with joy,

Pastor Mark

5 thoughts on “It’s Feeling Real

  1. Dear Pastor Mark,

    We are looking forward to your arrival. We will be praying for a safe trip here for you and your family.

    Jim & Sue Potts

    Like

  2. “I’m thankful for the love of friends, for emotions, and for the heavenly bond that knows no geographical limits.”

    I LOVE THAT QUOTE. It is something that I am always in awe of when I am sitting in church on a Sunday morning and thinking about my brothers and sisters all over the world as they go to their places of worship. Whether it be a huge fancy building or hiding in the basement of someone’s house. We are so different from one another yet so connected because of our Lord and Savior Jesus.

    We are so looking forward to your arrival and I, “believe God has brought the Spansels and Leroy together” also. After all, you are the man God chose when we asked Him for a pastor.

    Kathy

    Like

  3. Hey Mark,
    I agree with Kathy, and had to paste the quote again, “They prayed for you guys, prayed for my family, prayed for the Gospel to go forth with power in Ohio. Then Tuesday, the pastors sat and prayed for each other after lunch and I wept praying for my brothers here that have meant so much to me over the years. I’m thankful for the love of friends, for emotions, and for the heavenly bond that knows no geographical limits.”

    Thank you for your prayers and your brothers’ prayers in Corona. I’m living vicariously through those prayers you’re describing, as I can really relate to how those times must have felt, because we too said goodbye to an awesome brother from Leroy last year, now serving in PA. God moves people, and works all things by his “Soverign Hands” (awesome song by Hillsong, BTW:>) Oh Praise Him!

    The transition of altering these connections with friends is tough, really tough, so I’m not envying you guys. But I’m praying for you, even now, that grace covers this entire season, for all 9 of you and your whole spiritual family in Corona, (please let them know that as well.) I also pray that your path to getting here goes very smoothly. It’s been awesome to hear your heart in these blogs, thank you for taking the time to do them!

    I told you a bit about what God is doing here in NE Ohio regarding Revival, last time you were here, and things have not slowed down!! I’m praying for His Spirit to continue to overwhelm me, and flow out from the local body at LCC, out from the other churches in this region, and out over this world in a “white hot” expression of power and love for lost people, sending the Gospel to do It’s work. My love is for Jesus, and my marching orders are: Mt. 9:35-38 (ESV) paraphrase, “Jesus went (everywhere), teaching… and proclaiming the gospel of the kingdom and healing every disease and every affliction. When he saw the crowds, he had COMPASSION for them… Then he said to his disciples, “The harvest is plentiful, but the laborers are few; therefore PRAY EARNESTLY to the Lord of the harvest to send out laborers into his harvest.” (emphasis added.)

    We love you Brother, and pray that your sermon went well, and that He is “your all in all,” as we want Him to be ours. “Follow Him!”

    Under His Mercy,
    dan

    Like

  4. I rejoice with you in the relationships you have there in Corona. What a blessing to have! I also mourn with you all as your family says good-bye to your beloved family (church and blood) there. I’ve been praying for them as well.

    We’re looking forward to your arrival and are continuing in prayer for you all!

    Kim

    Like

  5. Mark,

    We will cherish the time you spent in Corona and the impact you have had on our people. Sharing in ministry with you has been a joy. We are truly blessed by the Lord because of your stay with us. We are sad to see you and your family leave, but overjoyed in how He has equipped you for the call to Leroy.

    Leroy will be blessed by getting a man so dedicated to seeing the Gospel proclaimed in it’s unwavering, uncompromising completeness.

    Never forget to “set an example for the believers in speech, in life, in love, in faith and in purity” (1 Tim. 4:11). You have done this so well in Corona, now continue in Him to the people of NE Ohio.

    Your Brother-in-Christ,

    Mark

    Like

Leave a Reply

